Swedish parliamentarians launch All-Party Parliamentary Group on Somaliland

(L-R) Oscarsson, Backstrom, Rubenson, Adan and Osterberg.

STOCKHOLM – An All-Party Parliamentary Group promoting Somaliland’s relationship with Sweden was launched in Stockholm on Wednesday.

The parliamentary group was created in collaboration with the Somaliland Committee in Sweden, a group of Swedish-Somalilanders that advocate for Somaliland recognition in Sweden.

Samir Dualeh, secretary-general of the Somaliland Committee in Sweden, spoke to The National about the new parliamentary group.

Samir Dualeh, Secretary-General – Somaliland Committee in Sweden.

“The creation of the new All-Party Parliamentary Group is an important milestone in Somaliland’s engagement with the Swedish Parliament, as the new group is solely dedicated to Somaliland issues, Dualeh said.

“Having a parliamentary group dedicated solely to Somaliland issues is important for our country’s relationship with Sweden. It will allow us to have close cooperation with the vast amount of Swedish MP’s who support Somaliland recognition. It will also pressure the Swedish Parliament to engage on Somaliland issues, and spark dialogue on topics very dear to us such as the recognition of Somaliland as a sovereign state,” Dualeh said.

Mikael Torstensson at the Somaliland parliament.

Somaliland’s special envoy to the European Union, Mikael Torstensson, says the creation of the group is a step towards Swedish recognition of Somaliland.

“For the first time in Swedish history, we’ve established an all-party parliamentary group on Somaliland. It is a step towards recognition,” Torstennon said.

The parliamentary group currently consists of the following parliamentarians:

ChairpersonMP Magnus Oscarsson, Christian Democratic Party (KD)
Vice ChairpersonMP Daniel Bäckström, Center Party (C)
SecretaryMP Björn Rubenson, Christian Democratic Party (KD)
Member –  MP Amir Adan, Moderate Party (M)
MemberMP Anders Österberg, Social Democrats (SAP)

READ:  Somaliland, Somalia establish joint technical committee for airspace control talks

According to the Somaliland Committee in Sweden, MP’s Arhe Hamednaca (SAP), Maria Andersson (SAP), Marie Granlund (SAP), Daniel Sestrajcic (L) and Hillevi Larsson (SAP) are also expected to join the parliamentary group within the coming weeks. An official ceremony is expected to be held soon.

Hamednaca, Larsson , Sestrajcic and Andersson.

The National - Comments

Top Stories

To Top