Bashe Mohamed Farah elected Speaker of Somaliland’s House of Representatives

Bashe Mohamed Farah elected Speaker of Somaliland's House of Representatives
Farah won the election by only one vote.

HARGEISA – Somaliland’s House of Representatives on Sunday elected former Deputy Speaker, Bashe Mohamed Farah, as the new Speaker of the House of the Representatives.

Farah, a Kulmiye MP from Sool region, beat out Abdirahman Mohamed Talyanle, Waddani MP for Sanaag region by one vote. Farah received 39 votes, Talyanle received 38.

Farah, was elected MP during Somaliland’s 2005 parliamentary elections. After becoming MP, Farah was elected 1st Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives and held the position for 12 years. Talyanle was not elected during the 2005 parliamentary elections. He was selected to fill the position of Sanaag MP Yusuf Aw Mohamed Ali Tuke in 2008, after Tuke died in a car crash.

Shortly after the election, Talyanle conceded deafeat and congratuled Farah on his win.

Talyanle only lost by one vote.

Farah is the first House Speaker hailing from Sool and Sanaag in 12 years.

Former House Speaker and current-Waddani Presidential Candidate, Abdirahman Irro, resigned from the position earlier this week to focus on his Presidential Campaign.

Somaliland’s House of Representatives will hold another vote within the next 7 days to elect the 1st and 2nd Deputy Speakers of the House.

The National - Comments

Top Stories

To Top